top of page
  • Writer's pictureHalden Levin

An Introduction • 簡介

Updated: Jul 3, 2021




Hello, my name is Halden Levin, and you are listening to Little Dragon’s Journey. 你好!我叫李靜辰,你正在聽小龍的旅程。

Transition Music(音樂)

You may be wondering, “What is Little Dragon’s Journey?”, so I would like to take this time to answer that very question. In 2018, I studied abroad in Chengdu, China, which is the capitol of the Sichuan Province, for about 6 to 8 weeks through the National Security Language Initiative for Youth (NSLI-Y). NSLI-Y is a study abroad program funded by the United States’ State Department’s Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs and facilitated by various organizations with the purpose of providing high school students the opportunity to study critical languages in the countries where they’re spoken for a summer and/or academic year. More on NSLI-Y in future episodes. To record and reflect on the experiences I was having, I decided to create my blog site: Little Dragon’s Journey.

Now that two years have passed, you may wonder, “Why make Little Dragon’s Journey a podcast now?” As a matter of fact, I graduated from high school a few months ago and am currently taking a gap year as a NSLI-Y Chinese (Mandarin) Academic Year Student/Scholar and UNC-CH Global Gap Year Fellow (GGYF). We love acronyms! More on GGYF in future episodes. One of my gap year goals is to continue to engage with and support the disability community, so I wanted to create an audio companion to my written blog posts for individuals who would otherwise be unable to, or would prefer to, access information about studying abroad, gap years, and other related content available on my blog site.

I will be doing weekly podcast episodes in the pattern of 2020-2021 gap year letters, 2020-2021 culinary adventure journals, 2018 study abroad reflections, and a bonus episode or a few mystery flavors. For now, episodes will be in English, but hopefully in the future I will produce some episodes in Chinese.


Please note, throughout the coming month, February, I will be releasing a month's worth of podcast episodes at the beginning of each week until the end of February when I'll be all caught up and producing weekly podcast episodes again.

Transition Music(音樂)

Thank you for joining Little Dragon’s Journey. 謝謝你們參加小龍的旅程。拜拜!

Single Post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page